Szczerbinski, McEwan win Team USA Trials

VIDEO:  Watch the finals

HENDERSON, Nev. - John Szczerbinski of North Tonawanda, N.Y., and Danielle McEwan of Stony Point, N.Y., emerged as the champions Monday at the 2013 United States Bowling Congress Team USA Trials and will represent the United States at the QubicaAMF World Cup later this year.

John Szczerbinski Danielle McEwanSzczerbinski held on in a tight championship match, defeating defending champion Marshall Kent of Yakima, Wash., 218-211, while McEwan successfully defended her title with a 267-194 win over Diandra Asbaty of Chicago at Sunset Station's Strike Zone Bowling Center.

Kent had a chance to take the title and continue his reign as Team USA Trials champion but needing a double in the final frame, he left the 2-4-5 on his first shot to concede the title to Szczerbinski.

"My goal coming here this week was just to make Team USA again," said Szczerbinski, who earned his third term on Team USA. "Winning this tournament is just icing on the cake and being able to go to the World Cup? It's just hard to explain everything I'm feeling."

In the women's title match, McEwan rolled to her second consecutive title with ease, knocking off Asbaty, who earned a spot on Team USA for a record 15th time.

"It was such a long week, and I'm completely drained," said McEwan, who is now a two-time Team USA member. "I remember last year when I won, it really didn't sink in until I got back to the hotel room, and I think that's happening again. It's just an amazing feeling."

In the semifinals, Kent took down John Janawicz of Winter Haven, Fla., 257-196, while McEwan defeated Josie Earnest of Nashville, Tenn., 199-181.

All of the players who advanced to the stepladder finals earned automatic spots on Team USA in 2013 by surviving a grueling five-day, 30-game format that awarded points based on the position they finished in each day.

The National Selection Committee also announced the remainder of the Team USA roster, which was made up of two men and two women based on their performance at the Team USA Trials and five men and five women who met eligibility requirements and submitted resumes for consideration.

The men's selections based on resumes Chris Barnes, Bill O'Neill, Tommy Jones, Mike Fagan and Steve Smith, while Eddie VanDaniker and Kyle King were selected based on their Trials performance. Joining the women's team as selections from resumes were Liz Johnson, Kelly Kulick, Shannon O'Keefe, Stefanie Nation, Shannon Pluhowsky, while Brittni Hamilton and Missy Parkin were picked based on Trials performance.

There were also four spots on Junior Team USA awarded Monday with the top two age-eligible finishers for the boys and girls earning automatic spots. The selection committee also added two boys and two girls.

Joining Junior Team USA were EJ Tackett, Wesley Low, Kamron Doyle and Dominic Partipilo on the boys side, while Elise Bolton, Morgan O'Brien, Mary Wells and Ashley Rucker made it on the girls side.

For more information on the Team USA Trials, visit

At Strike Zone Bowling Center, Henderson, Nev.
Monday's results




Marshall Kent, Yakima, Wash., def. John Janawicz, Winter Haven, Fla., 257-196

John Szczerbinski, North Tonawanda, N.Y., def. Kent, 218-211



Danielle McEwan, Stony Point, N.Y., def. Josie Earnest, Nashville, Tenn., 199-181

McEwan def. Diandra Asbaty, Chicago, 267-194