U.S., Sweden dominate WTBA World Senior Championships

LAS VEGAS - The United States and Sweden proved to be the dominant forces at the inaugural World Tenpin Bowling Association World Senior Championships.

The Americans took home 15 medals, while Swedes earned 13 medals as the World Senior Championships wrapped up Friday at Red Rock Lanes. In all, eight countries earned medals in the championships, which featured singles, doubles, team, all-events and Masters match play.

The World Senior Championships concluded with the Masters portion of the event Friday afternoon with the United States sweeping the gold medals. Robin Romeo defeated Sweden's Susanne Olsson, 180-161, while Hugh Miller defeated Sweden's Jan Nordberg, 247-198.

"I didn't realize how intense this was going to be from the start of the week, and I'm exhausted emotionally," said Romeo, a United States Bowling Congress Hall of Famer. "I was probably more nervous this entire week than I was when I bowled on the professional tour."

The USA women earned three gold medals (singles, all-events and Masters), one silver medal and four bronze medals. The U.S. men's team brought home three gold medals (doubles, all-events and Masters), two silver medals and two bronze medals.

Sweden finished with six medals on the men's side, including gold medals in team and singles, while the Swedish women's team also won six medals, including the team gold.

"Bowling for my country and my teammates really helped keep my head in the game this week," Miller said. "There was a lot of pressure this week and to cap it off with the Masters win is a really cool deal."

Mexico, which earned two medals, was the only other country to earn gold as their women's team won the doubles event. Canada earned three medals, while Australia took two medals. Finland, Colombia and Puerto Rico each took home one medal.

For more information on the WTBA World Senior Championships, visit BOWL.com/WorldSenior2013.

At Red Rock Lanes, Las Vegas
Medal winners


Gold - Christer Danielsson, Sweden
Silver - Ron Mohr, United States
Bronze - Robert Chinner, Australia and Christer Pettersson, Sweden

Gold - Lucy Sandelin, United States
Silver - Christel Carlsson, Sweden
Bronze - Robin Romeo, United States and Riitta Nikupeteri, Finland


Gold - Hugh Miller/Ron Mohr, United States
Silver - Edgar Gomez/David Romero, Colombia
Bronze - Jack Brace/Ray Vervynck, Canada and Ed Roberts/Del Ballard Jr., United States

Gold - Veronica Berumen/Teresa Piccini, Mexico
Silver - Lucy Sandelin/Tish Johnson, United States
Bronze - Ann-Ki Larsson Carlsson/Susanne Olsson, Sweden and Lena Sulkanen/Christel Carlsson, Sweden


Gold - Sweden (Jan Nordberg, Christer Pettersson, Stefan Yngstrom, Christer Danielsson)
Silver - United States (Hugh Miller, Ed Roberts, Del Ballard Jr., Ron Mohr)
Bronze - Puerto Rico (Antonio Santa, Antonio Velez, Edward Roncoli, Edgardo Ruiz) and Mexico (Isaac Amkie, Manuel Garcia, Victor Mar, Jesus Gutierrez)

Gold - Sweden (Susanne Olsson, Ann-Ki Larsson Carlsson, Lena Sulkanen, Christel Carlsson)
Silver - Canada (Cathy Harvey, France Joubert, Sharon Tataryn, Jill Friis)
Bronze - United States (Lucy Sandelin, Anne Marie Duggan, Tish Johnson, Robin Romeo) and Australia (Jill Morris, Heather Robertson, Robyn Flynn, Jeanette Baker)


Gold - Ron Mohr, United States
Silver - Jan Nordberg, Sweden
Bronze - Christer Pettersson, Sweden

Gold - Robin Romeo, United States
Silver - Susanne Olsson, Sweden
Bronze - Lucy Sandelin, United States


Gold - Hugh Miller, United States
Silver - Jan Nordberg, Sweden
Bronze - Ron Mohr, United States and Christer Pettersson, Sweden

Gold - Robin Romeo, United States
Silver - Susanne Olsson, Sweden
Bronze - Lucy Sandelin, United States and Sharon Tataryn, Canada