Field set for 2014 Intercollegiate Singles Championships

ARLINGTON, Texas - The field of 24 men and 16 women who will compete for individual national championships was determined Friday at four 2014 XBowling Intercollegiate Singles Championships sectional qualifiers.

The Intercollegiate Singles Championships will take place April 14 and 18 at the Reno-Sparks Convention Center in Reno, Nev., with the men's and women's finals broadcast on CBS Sports Network in May.

Qualifying for the national finals was held in Allentown, Pa.; Addison, Ill.; Smyrna, Tenn.; and Fort Worth, Texas. All participants bowled six games with the top four women at each site advancing. The number of men's advancers was based on entries in each sectional. Seven men Addison, six from Smyrna and Allentown and five from Fort Worth moved on to bowl for the national title.

Wichita State took the top three spots in Fort Worth as Zachary Rhoades led the way with 1,452 (242 average) and was followed by Francois Lavoie and Devin Bidwell. Midland took the other two spots with Perry Crowell IV finishing fourth and Jared Erickson taking the final spot.

In Addison, Grand View's Nathan Maciejewski led the way with 1,401 (233.5 average). Also advancing were Ryan McCoy of Calumet, Mitch Katic of Calumet, DJ Rose of Concordia, Thomas York II of Viterbo, Tyler Heintzelman of Clarke and Dakota Daniels of Calumet.

Former Junior Team USA member Chris Via of Notre Dame-Ohio dominated the qualifier in Smyrna, finishing with 1,394 (232.3 average). Joining Via in Reno will be Gabriel Garcia-Rinelli of Webber International, Zackary Carrie of Marian, Darren Tang of San Jose State, Kevin Donovan of Notre Dame-Ohio and James Tucker III of Urbana.

Ryan Graywacz of Western New England finished on top of the Allentown sectional with 1,369 (228.1 average) and advanced to nationals along with Brian Busch of Lawrence Tech, Domenick Luongo of St. John's, Nicholas Stone of Toledo, Joshua Camacho of Webber International and Andro Simounet of Webber International.

On the women's side, Team USA member Danielle McEwan of Fairleigh Dickinson bowled a 300 game en route to taking the top spot in Allentown with 1,390 (231.6 average). Also advancing were Diana Zavjalova of Webber International and Tatiana Munoz and Mariana Alvarado of Maryland Eastern Shore.

In Addison, Jackie Carbonetto of Robert Morris-Illinois fired 1,411 (235.1 average) to earn herself a spot in Reno. Three Wisconsin-Whitewater bowlers took the other spots with Jaymi Watson, Amanda Vanduyn and Katherine Kleinmaier advancing.

Samantha Johnson of Lindenwood shot 1,319 (219.8 average) to lead the field in Smyrna. Makayla Douglas of Lindenwood, Chelsey Stephens of Campbellsville and Elise Bolton of Nebraska also moved on.

The Fort Worth sectional belonged to the Wichita State women as they took all four spots. Alexis Ijams led the way with 1,366 (227.6 average) and was joined by Kelsey Muther, Heather Melvin and Tanya Roumimper.

For more information and complete results from the XBowling Intercollegiate Singles Championships and the Sectional Qualifiers, visit