Texas youth bowler named Alberta E. Crowe Star of Tomorrow

BOWL.com Article Image
ARLINGTON, Texas – Emma Kuhn of Texas City, Texas, a senior at Texas City High School, has been selected as the 2015 Alberta E. Crowe Star of Tomorrow.

The annual award recognizes a female United States Bowling Congress Youth bowler for star qualities, including distinguished bowling performances, academic achievement and extracurricular activities. The award, named in honor of the seven-term president of the Women’s International Bowling Congress, is determined by the International Bowling Campus Youth Committee and the award winner receives a $6,000 scholarship.

“It is such an incredible honor to be chosen,” Kuhn said. “Because of this amazing opportunity, I will be able to further my education at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater, where I also will be bowling on the team at the university. I’m thrilled that my many hours of hard work and dedication to not only my bowling, but also my education, are finally paying off.”

Kuhn said her family always has been involved in the sport, and she joined her first league at age 5. When her family moved from Seymour, Wisconsin, to Texas in 2007, her older brother joined the Texas City High School team.

“As a 12-year-old tomboy, I wanted to be/do whatever my older brothers were doing, which just so happened to be bowling,” Kuhn said. “And my love for the sport has just grown more and more every year since.”

She is a four-year member of the Texas City High School varsity bowling team that has qualified for the state tournament each year. She was the all-events and scratch city champion at the 2014 Greater Houston USBC (GHUSBC) Youth Championships and has competed in the Junior Gold and USBC Youth Open Championships each of the last four years.

Kuhn is an officer on the Texas State USBC Youth Leaders board and was selected to the association’s hall of honor in 2015. With the GHUSBC Youth Leaders, she has been involved in projects such as collecting canned goods for her church pantry, collecting coats for the needy and delivering Thanksgiving meals to the homeless.

She has a 3.96 grade-point average (4.0 scale) and is ranked 17th in her class. She is an Alto in the school’s Women’s Choir and is a two-year member of Mu Alpha Theta Math Honor Society.

As the winner of the Alberta E. Crowe Star of Tomorrow Award, Kuhn will receive an expenses-paid trip to the 2015 USBC Convention in Omaha, Nebraska, on April 27-30, where she will be presented the award. BOWL.com will live stream the USBC Convention, including the award presentation.

Go to BOWL.com/ScholarshipsAwards to learn more about scholarship opportunities for youth bowlers.

Year, winner, hometown

1961 Betty Kuczynski, Cicero, Ill.
1962 Joy Abel, Lansing, Ill.
1963 Judy Soutar, Leawood, Kan.
1964 Ann Bosworth, Belleville, Ill.
1965 Karen Linton, El Paso, Texas
1966 Betty Jo Crow, Fairway, Kan.
1967 Mildred Ignizio, Rochester, N.Y.
1968 Pamela Carver, Phoenix, Ariz.
1969 Janice Sue Reichley, Dallas
1970 Cheryl Robinson, Destrehan, La.
1971 Rosalyn Raab, San Antonio, Texas
1972 Karen Gustafson, Sunland, Calif.
1973 Leslie Ferris, Arlington, Va.
1974 Pam Dusek, Ontario, Calif.
1975 Donna Adamek, Apple Valley, Calif.
1976 Regina Loveall, Amarillo, Texas
1977 Kathy Kirst, San Antonio, Texas
1978 Nikki Gianulias, Vallejo, Calif.
1979 Audrey Gable, Whitehall, Pa.
1980 Tish Johnson, Panorama City, Calif.
1981 Shelley Johnson, Toledo, Ohio
1982 Vicki Parker, Pelham, N.H.
1983 Laura Dulisse, Blauvelt, N.Y.
1984 Kristine Gross, Citrus Heights, Calif.
1985 Becky Kregling, Stratford, Conn.
1986 Lori Benge, Wichita, Kan.
1987 Dionne Lee, Modesto, Calif.
1988 Lynda Norry, Concord, Calif.
1989 Stefanie Marek, Wilmington, Del.
1990 Kelly Everding, Arvada, Colo.
1991 Laura Ross, Mahwah, N.J.
1992 Kari Murph, Dayton, Ohio
1993 Elizabeth Johnson, Niagara Falls, N.Y.
1994 Pamela Inloes, Modesto, Calif.
1995 Kassy Hyman, Dyer, Ind.
1996 Michelle Ewald, St. Claire Shores, Mich.
1997 Kimberly Claus, Mesquite, Texas
1998 Diandra Hyman, Dyer, Ind.
1999 Amy Rocco, Phoenix
2000 Robin Crawford, Hendersonville, Tenn.
2001 Melissa Bellinder, Fullerton, Calif.
2002 Anita Manns, Austin, Texas
2003 Lindsey Coulles, Centerville, Ohio
2004 Amanda Burgoyne, Newport, Minn.
2005 Cassandra Leuthold, Blackhawk, S.D.
2006 Josie Earnest, Vandalia, Ill.
2007 Joi Bell, Pflugerville, Texas
2008 Brittni Hamilton, Webster, N.Y.
2009 Ricki Williams, Wichita, Kan.
2010 Heather D’Errico, Rochester, N.Y.
2011 Nicole Mosesso, Centerville, Ohio
2012 Megan Buja, Rockford, Ill.
2013 Melanie Hannon, Cheektowaga, N.Y.
2014 Melanie Crawford, Plano, Texas
2015 Emma Kuhn, Texas City, Texas