Six Junior Gold bowlers selected for David Dahms Sportsmanship Award

ARLINGTON, Texas – The International Bowling Campus Youth Committee has selected six youth bowlers to receive the David Dahms Sportsmanship Award following their participation in the 2017 Junior Gold Championships presented by the Brands of Ebonite International.  

Given to competitors who best exemplified sportsmanship, leadership, positive attitude and enthusiasm during the Junior Gold Championships held in July in Cleveland, the David Dahms Sportsmanship Award is presented to one male and one female participant in each division. Selections were based on nominations received during the Junior Gold Championships. 

Each of the U12 award winners will receive $250 scholarships; the U15 and U20 recipients each will receive a $500 scholarship. This year’s winners:

12 and under division

  • Kayla Mitchell, Vaihingen, Germany
  • Aidin DeBoer, Clearwater, Florida
15 and under division
  • Katie Heady, Richardson, Texas
  • Kesean Waldon, Alexandria, Virginia
20 and under division
  • Sara Snyder, Depew, New York
  • Kaleb East, Twinsburg, Ohio

The David Dahms Sportsmanship Award is named in honor of Dahms, who was instrumental in the development of the Junior Gold program.

For more information about the Junior Gold program, visit

CBS Sports Network is televising the finals of the 2017 Junior Gold Championships presented by The Brands of Ebonite International. The U20 title matches will be shown on Aug. 8 at 8 p.m. (Eastern). The U12 and U15 finals already aired.