Collegiate Ticker - Jan. 3, 2018

The 2017 calendar year ended with fireworks for the four collegiate bowling teams that claimed Tier 1 titles last weekend in Allentown, Pennsylvania.

The Wisconsin-Whitewater men and Robert Morris-Illinois women were the winners at the Roto Grip Keystone Quaker Collegiate Classic, while the Robert Morris-Illinois men and Wright State University women claimed the crowns at the Lehigh Valley Collegiate Classic.

Both events featured five traditional games on the first day and 20 Baker games on the second day of competition. Total pinfall determined the winners.

The Roto Grip Keystone Quaker Collegiate Classic was held at Haja Rose Bowl on Dec. 27-28 and featured a field of 35 men's teams and 12 women's teams.

Wisconsin-Whitewater, the defending champion on the men's side, averaged more than 210 in its traditional games and more than 205 during Baker play to successfully defend the title with a 9,369 total, nearly 200 pins ahead of St. John's (9,188).

The Robert Morris-Illinois men were third with 9,160 and followed by William Paterson (9,048) and Morehead State (8,977).

The race on the women's side was much closer, with Robert Morris-Illinois (8,635) edging Notre Dame College (8,603) and Wright State (8,595). Schenectady County Community College was fourth with 8,530 and followed by Pikeville (8,292).

Individually, Brandon Wolfe of Schenectady County Community College took the men's top honor with a five-game total of 1,144, a 228.8 average, while Notre Dame's Angela Gabriele set the pace for the women with a 1,064 total, a 212.8 average.

The Lehigh Valley Collegiate Classic took place Dec. 29-30 with the men at AMF Parkway Bowling Lanes and the women at Jordan Lanes.

The Robert Morris-Illinois men cruised to the win with a 9,935 total, more than 200 pins ahead of Lawrence Tech (9,697). Wisconsin-Whitewater was third with 9,632 and followed by Arizona State (9,586) and William Paterson (9,469). The event featured 32 men's teams.

The Wright State women were victorious with a 9,231 effort, and they were followed by Schenectady County Community College (9,042), Notre Dame College (8,777), Florida State (8,589) and Robert Morris-Illinois (8,509). The tournament included 14 women's teams.

Michael Kissel of Stony Brook University topped the men's individual standings with a 1,220 total for his five games, a 244 average, and he was followed by Andrew Hall of Arizona State (1,197), Lawrence Tech's Cody Johnston (1,173), Wright State's Conner Novak (1,155) and Michael Martell of Robert Morris-Illinois (1,141).

A pair Wright State players, Tori Pappas and Colleen Hines, led the way on the women's side with 1,088 and 1,074, respectively, and they were followed by Notre Dame's Gabriele (1,074), Lauren Piotrowski of Schenectady County Community College (1,073) and Hudson Valley Community College's Kyla Day (1,053).

The collegiate season resumes Saturday with the start of the Thomas More Saints Classic at Super Bowl Bellewood in Newport, Kentucky.

For complete results from Allentown, click here.