USBC Board has three new members for 2018-2019 season

ARLINGTON, Texas – The United States Bowling Congress Board of Directors has three new directors, and, for the first time since 2015, has a new president and vice president.

As the 2018-2019 season gets underway, Josie Barnes of Nashville, Tennessee, Dennis Hacker of Longtown, Missouri, and Randy Thompson of Des Moines, Iowa, each are starting their first terms on the USBC Board.

Barnes, an assistant bowling coach at Vanderbilt University and a member of the Professional Women’s Bowling Association (PWBA), was elected by Team USA athletes earlier this year. Hacker starts his first season after his election by the delegates at the 2018 USBC Convention, while Thompson, the president of the Bowling Proprietors’ Association of America, takes over for previous BPAA president Nancy Schenk.

Karl Kielich of El Paso, Texas, will be the USBC president for the 2018-2019 season, with Karen Jost of Tumwater, Washington, who was re-elected by delegates to a third term in April, serving as vice president. Kielich and Jost were elected to their leadership positions by the board earlier this year.

Kielich takes over for Frank Wilkinson, while Jost assumes the role held by Cathy DeSocio.

Wilkinson and DeSocio served their final terms as president and vice president, respectively, during the 2017-2018 season, having reached term limits. Wilkinson remains a director for one more season, while DeSocio has two seasons remaining on her current three-year term as a director.

Melissa McDaniel of Raleigh, North Carolina, starts her third season as chair of the International Bowling Campus (IBC) Youth Committee. New members to the committee include Chad Estes of Statesville, North Carolina, and Nadine Swee of Fargo, North Dakota.

Visit to learn more about the USBC Board and its committees.