2019 Pan American Games


July 26 – Aug. 11, 2019
Lima, Peru

Follow the action from
the Bowling Center of La Villa Deportiva Nacional (VIDENA) 


The XVIII Pan American Games are taking place July 26 through Aug. 11, 2019, in Lima, Peru.
Bowling is among the 39 sports and 62 disciplines being contested at the 2019 Pan American Games, which is considered the most important event in the four-year cycle of the Team USA bowling program. USBC determined the staff and athlete representatives for the games based on a process approved by the United States Olympic & Paralympic Committee (USOPC).

The USOPC has approved the procedures established by USBC to determine the staff and the team members who are representing the United States in the bowling competition at the 2019 Pan American Games.

Held every four years, in the year preceding the Summer Olympic Games, the Pan American Games was first held in 1951 to bring together athletes from the nations of the Americas.

Governed by the Pan American Sports Organization (PASO), it is the second-largest multi-sport event. The 2019 Pan American Games and 2019 Parapan American Games are organized by the Organizing Committee of the Lima 2019 Pan American and Parapan American Games (COPAL).

At the last Pan American Games, held in 2015 in Toronto, competitors bowled for medals in singles and doubles. Team USA’s Shannon Pluhowsky captured the gold medal in women’s singles and teamed with Liz Johnson to earn a silver medal in doubles competition. Devin Bidwell, who made his first international appearance for Team USA at the Pan American Games, earned bronze in singles and teamed with Tommy Jones to earn bronze in doubles.

Team USA has won 21 of a possible 32 gold medals, along with seven silver medals and six bronze medals in bowling in Pan American Games history.