USBC eConnection: Nov., 2011

Five elected to USBC Hall of Fame 
The USBC Hall of Fame Committee has elected five new members to the USBC Hall of Fame - two in Outstanding USBC Performance, two in Meritorious Service and one Pioneer.

Wheelchair bowler Al Uttecht of Anaheim, Calif., was elected in the Pioneer category, multiple-time USBC Open Championships winners Lennie Boresch Jr. of Kenosha, Wis., and Gary Daroszewski of Franklin, Wis., were selected in the Outstanding USBC Performance category and Joan Feinblum of Santa Rosa, Calif., and the late Kerm Helmer of Utica, N.Y., were honored for Meritorious Service.

To read more about the newly elected Hall of Fame members and to learn more about the USBC Hall of Fame, please click here.

Chuck Hall, Alberta E. Crowe Star of Tomorrow recipients selected 
Kyle Anderson of Lockport, Ill., and Megan Buja of Rockford, Ill., have been selected to receive the 2012 Chuck Hall and Alberta E. Crowe Star of Tomorrow awards, respectively. The award is presented annually by USBC to a male and female high school senior or college student who has excelled in the sport of bowling as well as off the lanes.

A freshman at St. Ambrose University in Davenport, Iowa, Anderson is studying accounting, finance and business. He also is taking sports management courses, and someday would like to have a career in the bowling industry.

Buja is a sophomore at the University of Maryland Eastern Shore, where she is majoring in Human Ecology - Dietetics. She plans to become a physician's assistant or attend medical school.

For more detailed information about this year's Chuck Hall Star of Tomorrow award winner, click here. To read about the Alberta E. Crowe winner, click here.

VIP package available at 2012 USBC Open Championships 
Bowlers headed to the 2012 USBC Open Championships in Baton Rouge, La., will be treated like Mardi Gras royalty if they take advantage of the tournament's new VIP program. Through the program, bowlers will have the chance to be coached by international coach Bill Hall on the tournament's new showcase lanes, which will be located on the second floor of the Baton Rouge River Center.

The Open Championships VIP package includes several gifts, discounts and other features combined into one great deal that can be purchased exclusively on for just $199.95. It is perfect as a holiday gift or a special opportunity for a veteran competitor looking to enhance the tournament experience.

To see details and become an Open Championships VIP, please click here.

Book now, pay later with  
Bowlers planning trips to USBC events or for those going on a vacation or business trip, just head to, the USBC travel website that makes it easy to book any trip. has negotiated the best rates, so USBC members are encouraged to book flights, hotels, rental cars and more at the easy-to-use website. When booking hotel rooms, USBC members can take advantage of the new Book Now/Pay Later feature. When you book your hotel, you won't have to pay until 14 days before your check-in date.

Two coaches awarded USBC Gold status 
Hank Boomershine of Brigham City, Utah, and Joe Slowinski of Lake Wales, Fla., have been awarded Gold level coaching status after successfully completing certification requirements through the USBC Coaching Certification and Development department.

Gold level is the highest certification a coach can achieve through USBC. USBC recently conducted coaching recertification and, with the addition of Boomershine and Slowinski, there now are 16 USBC Gold coaches worldwide.

Click here to learn more and to see a video about the new Gold coaches.

Team USA adds 10 to 2012 roster; Trials champions to compete in World Cup 
USBC has selected 10 athletes to join Team USA in 2012 and also announced the winners of the USBC Team USA Trials will earn automatic spots to compete in the QubicaAMF World Cup.

Five men and five women have been selected to Team USA members for 2012. The remainder of the roster will be determined at the Team USA Trials in Las Vegas from Jan. 2-6.

Patrick Allen, Chris Barnes, Tommy Jones, Bill O'Neill and Sean Rash were selected to join the men's team by the National Selection Committee, while Liz Johnson, Kelly Kulick, Stefanie Nation, Shannon O'Keefe and Shannon Pluhowsky were chosen for the women's team.

An additional five men and five women will join Team USA 2012 at the Team USA Trials, which will be held at Texas Station in Las Vegas. The winners of the event will represent the United States at the prestigious QubicaAMF World Cup in 2012.

For more information on how to enter the Team USA Trials, visit

2012 Senior Queens shifts to Texas 
The dates and location for the 2012 USBC Senior Queens have been changed, and the event now will be part of a weeklong celebration of senior women's bowling at the International Bowling Campus in Arlington, Texas, in late October 2012.

The qualifying, match-play and championship portions of the USBC Senior Queens will take place at the International Training and Research Center, and all rounds will be broadcast live on New for 2012, the tournament will feature a stepladder championship round. The official dates and details of special events for competitors will be available in early spring.

The change accommodates the addition of the Senior U.S. Women's Open as a division of the U.S. Women's Open, which will take place in Reno, Nev., in June, just two weeks before the Senior Queens originally was scheduled to be conducted.

USBC announces 2010-11 high average and series winners 
Team USA member Liz Johnson enjoyed a successful year on the international stage, and she was able to stay sharp by competing in a USBC Sport Bowling league.

The 37-year-old right-hander, who earlier this year helped Team USA to its first team gold medal at the World Tenpin Bowling Association World Women's Championships since 1987, captured the women's 2010-11 USBC Sport Bowling National High Average Award. She averaged 210 for 48 games in the Beverly Sport League at Beverly Lanes in Arlington Heights, Ill.

John Donahue of Shawnee Mission, Kan., topped the Adult Male division while Kyle Sherman of O'Fallon, Mo., and Denver's Emily Eckhoff led all youth Sport bowlers with 205 and 196, respectively.

The 2010-11 USBC National Standard High Average and High Series Awards also have been announced. For the complete list of the National High Series and High Average Awards, click here.

The team awards for National High Game and National High Series awards also have been determined. For the adult award winners, click here. For the youth national awards, click here.