Lindenwood, Newman win Hoosier titles

INDIANAPOLIS - In a pair of tight championship matches, the Lindenwood men and Newman women emerged as the champions of the 2012 Backhaul Direct Hoosier Classic - the largest USBC Collegiate event of the season. The event was broadcast on BowlTV.

The Newman women took down top seed Wichita State, 3-1, in the best-of-five title match. They edged the Shockers 190-189 in the fourth game to lock up the title. Pikeville and McKendree lost in the semifinals to finish tied for third.

Wichita State's Jazreel Tan led the women's individual standings with 1,866 for nine games. Caitlin Campbell of Baker was second with 1,818, while Wichita State's Holly Harris was third with 1,810.

In the men's championship match, Lindenwood took a 3-2 victory over Webber International. In the deciding fifth game, Lindenwood took a 158-154 win on the 42-foot flat oil pattern. Finishing tied for third with semifinal loses were Wichita State and Midland.

Marshall Kent of Robert Morris-Illinois took top individual honors with a nine-game total of 1,933. Marcelo Suartz of Webber International finished second with 1,921, while two-handed Chris Via of Notre Dame-Ohio was third with 1,907.

RESULTS:  Men | Women