Parkin undefeated at USBC Queens

EULESS, Texas - Defending champion Missy Parkin of Lake Forest, Calif., is one of eight players still undefeated in match play at the 2012 United States Bowling Congress Queens.

Parkin, who qualified as the fifth seed, posted victories over Sandra Andersson of Sweden (642-613) and No. 12 seed Anne Marie Duggan of Edmond, Okla., (623-536) on Sunday at AMF Euless Lanes. As one of the top 16 players after qualifying, Parkin received a first-round bye in match play.

"Everything leading up to this tournament, all the tournaments I have been bowling in order to prepare, have got my game really sharp," Parkin said. "I'm very happy with the way I'm throwing the ball and my confidence is high, which always helps."

Lisa Noor of Mound, Minn., a former Team USA member, qualified at No. 27 but was able to win her first three matches, including a 678-582 victory over No. 6 seed Lindsay Baker of Brigham City, Utah, to remain among the eight undefeated players.  

"I'm just trying to throw the best shots that I can and see what happens," Noor said. "I'm trying not to put any pressure on myself this time. I usually put a lot of pressure on myself."

No. 15 qualifier Katherine Lanehart of Eagle River, Alaska, edged No. 2 seed Anita Manns of Houston, 638-606, to stay unbeaten. Lanehart is making her second Queens appearance, having competed at the 2010 Queens in El Paso, Texas, where she "didn't do so well."

"I came in with the first goal of making the cut and then take it step by step and one ball at a time," Lanehart said. "I felt really good coming in. I've been bowling well at home and I'm really pleased with how I'm doing."

Josie Earnest of Nashville, Tenn., a member of 2012 Team USA and a five-time Junior Team USA member, sent top seed Kelly Kulick of Union, N.J., to the contenders bracket with a 672-646 victory. Kulick had averaged 242 during the final five qualifying games on Sunday morning to earn the top seed for match play.

"I haven't had a lot of time to practice because I coach now and I travel a lot with the team," said Earnest, who is an assistant coach for the women's bowling team at Vanderbilt. "For me, it was really focusing on each shot because I really couldn't afford to give one up."

The other four remaining undefeated players are: Stefanie Nation of Grand Prairie, Texas; Olivia Sandham of Wichita, Kan.; Diandra Asbaty of Chicago, Ill.; and USBC Hall of Famer Carolyn Dorin-Ballard of Keller, Texas, who won the 2001 Queens.

The top 64 players in the 131-player field had their five final qualifying games on Sunday morning, after which the top 48 advanced to the double-elimination match-play bracket, which started Sunday afternoon. The final five players will advance to the televised stepladder finals. The final two players in the winners bracket will be assured a spot on the television show, while the final three spots on the show will come from the contenders bracket.

Match play continues Monday at 10 a.m. Eastern and's BowlTV will have live coverage. The finals, which will be held at the International Training and Research Center in Arlington, Texas, will be televised live on ESPN2 at 7 p.m. Eastern on Tuesday.

The match-play portion of the Queens at AMF Euless Lanes is open to the public at no charge.

For more information and full results from the USBC Queens, visit

AMF Euless Lanes in Euless, Texas
Double elimination, three-game matches decided by total pinfall
(Name, hometown followed by three-game pinfall total)
Opening Round
(Winners remain in winners bracket. Losers move to contenders bracket.)
(30) Rocio Restrepo, Arlington, Texas, def. (35) Elysia Current, Ephrata, Pa., 711-603
(46) Jacqui Reese, Roseto, Pa., def. (19) Cassandra Leuthold, Black Hawk, S.D., 638-588
(22) Tennelle Milligan, Arlington, Texas, def. (43) Adrienne Miller, Albuquerque, N.M., 647-630
(27) Lisa Noor, Mound, Minn., def. (38) Karin Ciesiolka, Harker Heights, Texas, 583-516
(39) Mariana Ayala, Bedford, Texas, def. (26) Genie Franklin, Frisco, Texas, 647-626
(42) Kayla Bandy, Pikeville, Ky., def. (23) Shannon Pluhowsky, Dayton, Ohio, 654-632
(47) Emily Maier, Grapevine, Texas, def. (18) Brittni Hamilton, Webster, N.Y., 600-596
(34) Rachel Perez, Maumelle, Ark., def. (31) Terysa Wojnar, Chicago, 624-554
(33) Ashly Galante, Palm Harbor, Fla., def. (32) Sara Rash, Montgomery, Ill., 535-497
(17) Kim Terrell-Kearney, Grand Prairie, Texas, def. (48) Melissa Brownie, Pendleton, Ky., 656-556
(41) Joanne Allebrook, England, def. (24) Megan Kelly, Dayton, Ohio, 688-610
(25) Sandi Charles, Nolanville, Texas, def. (40) Kristin Warzinski, Fort Worth, Texas, 657-648
(28) Sandra Andersson, Sweden, def. (37) Danielle Knittle, State College, Pa., 709-608
(44) Cathy Dorin-Lizzi, Sandusky, Ohio, def. (21) Jodi Woessner, Oregon, Ohio, 634-633
(20) Jennifer Higgins, Westerville, Ohio, def. (45) Kristy Coles, Kearns, Utah, 593-549
(29) Olivia Sandham, Wichita, Kan., def. (36) Shauna Shannon, Albuquerque, N.M., 686-635
Round 1
(1) Kelly Kulick, Union, N.J., def. Galante, 704-631
(2) Anita Manns, Houston, def. Perez, 639-617
(3) Stefanie Nation, Grand Prairie, Texas, def. Restrepo, 713-664
Sandham def. (4) Liz Johnson, Cheektowaga, N.Y., 669-599
(5) Missy Parkin, Lake Forest, Calif., def. Andersson, 642-613
Noor def. (6) Lindsay Baker, Brigham City, Utah, 678-582
(7) Diandra Asbaty, Chicago, Ill., def. Ayala, 621-591
(8) Carolyn Dorin-Ballard, Keller, Texas, def. Charles, 714-608
(9) Clara Guerrero, Pflugerville, Texas, def. Allebrook, 663-517
(10) Leanne Hulsenberg, Roseville, Calif., def. Bandy, 638-567
Milligan def. (11) April Ellis Arlington, Texas, 687-555
(12) Anne Marie Duggan, Edmond, Okla., def. Dorin-Lizzi, 655-495
(13) Wendy Macpherson, Henderson, Nev., def. Higgins, 690-672
Reese def. (14) Shannon O'Keefe, Arlington, 694-677
(15) Katherine Lanehart, Eagle River, Alaska, def. Maier, 692-568
(16) Josie Earnest, Nashville, Tenn., def. Terrell-Kearney, 707-686
Round 2
Earnest def. Kulick, 672-646
Lanehart def. Manns, 638-606
Nation def. Reese, 704-503
Sandham vs. Macpherson, 709-569
Parkin def. Duggan, 623-536
Noor def. Milligan, 670-650
Asbaty def. Hulsenberg, 713-676
Dorin-Ballard def. Guerrero, 647-528

Round 1
(Losers eliminated, earn $1,000)
Perez def. Rash, 616-498
Hamilton def. Terrell-Kearney, 705-614
Pluhowsky def. Allebrook, 630-545
Ayala def. Warzinski, 634-552
Knittle def. Baker, 602-576
Miller def. Dorin-Lizzi, 663-615
Higgins def. Leuthold, 793-633
Shannon def. Restrepo, 716-619
Johnson def. Current, 701-588
O'Keefe def. Coles, 685-657
Woessner def. Ellis, 568-555
Ciesiolka def. Andersson, 622-539
Franklin def. Charles, 697-675
Kelley def. Bandy, 687-630
Maier def. Brownie, 582-571
Galante def. Wojnar, 637-550
Round 2
(Losers eliminated, earn $1,100)
Hamilton def. Perez, 642-618
Ayala def. Pluhowsky, 663-659
Miller def. Knittle, 645-578
Shannon def. Higgins, 583-545
Johnson def. O'Keefe, 659-647
Ciesiolka def. Woessner, 634-630
Kelly def. Franklin, 627-570
Maier def. Galante, 708-563