Belmo, Rash, Fagan nominated for ESPYs

PBA Communications

FaganInsideSEATTLE –
Three-time 2011-12 titlist Jason Belmonte, Tournament of Champions winner Sean Rash and USBC Masters champion Mike Fagan have been nominated for the 2012 “Best Bowler” ESPY award, the Professional Bowlers Association learned Wednesday.

Voting on the “Best Bowler” ESPY, and a variety of other ESPY categories, is now open to the public and will remain open until the live ESPY Awards telecast begins at 9 p.m. ET on ESPN on Wednesday, July 11. The 20th annual celebration of achievements in sports will again be hosted by the Nokia Theater in downtown Los Angeles.

To vote, visit and click on your favorite player.

Belmonte, the Australian two-handed specialist and reigning ESPY Award winner, had his best year as a PBA Tour competitor, winning the Chameleon Open, GEICO Shark Open and PBA Elite Players Championship. Belmonte finished second in earnings and PBA competition points, and third in average for the 2011-12 season. He also recorded a fourth-place finish in the PBA World Championship, and third-place finishes in both the U.S. Open and PBA Tournament of Champions.

Fagan, a native of Long Island, N.Y., who now resides in Dallas, also had a career year, winning his first major in the Alka-Seltzer Plus Liquid Gels United States Bowling Congress Masters and the Brunswick Euro Challenge. Fagan, who finished second in PBA Tour average and third in both points and earnings, also finished second in the U.S. Open and fourth in the Tournament of Champions.

Rash, a native Alaskan now living in Montgomery, Ill., qualified for a record five consecutive TV finals during PBA’s World Series of Bowling III in Las Vegas, and swept the PBA’s three most important statistical categories – earnings, points and averages – in earning 2011-12 PBA Player of the Year honors.

ESPY Award candidates are selected by ESPN for a variety of sports and special moments in athletic competition, and winners are determined by fan voting.


2011 – Jason Belmonte
2010 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
2009 – Norm Duke
2008 – Norm Duke
2007 – Norm Duke
2006 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
2005 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
2004 – Pete Weber
2003 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
2002 – Pete Weber
2001 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
2000 – Parker Bohn III
1999 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
1998 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
1997 – Bob Learn Jr.
1996 – Mike Aulby
1995 – Norm Duke
1994 – Norm Duke