Top collegiate bowlers to battle for singles titles

Thirty-two of the nation's top collegiate bowlers will be at AMF Euless Lanes in Euless, Texas, starting Monday to compete for national titles at the United States Bowling Congress Intercollegiate Singles Championships.

The participants will bowl 16 qualifying games on Monday, May 17, to determine the single-elimination match-play bracket. On Tuesday, May 18, match play will consist of best-of-five games until a champion is determined. All qualifying and match-play rounds will be broadcast live on

The 16 men and 16 women earned their way into the tournament through four sectional qualifying events held in March. The top four qualifiers at each sectional advanced to the national event.

Two-time Team USA member John Szczerbinski of Wichita State heads the men's division. A first-team All-American this season, he helped Wichita State to its third consecutive Intercollegiate Team Championship title. He was third in average and posted the highest pinfall total in sectional qualifying (1,372 for six games).

Also in the men's division is Chris Bardol of Robert Morris (Ill.), a 2010 Junior Team USA member who was named the 2009 Chuck Hall Star of Tomorrow, and Bellarmine's Mike Conn, a second-team All-American and the 2009 USBC Junior Gold Championships winner.

Leading the women's field is Central Florida's Jenn Boisselle, the national leader in average this collegiate season. Boisselle, a two-time Junior Team USA member, won three tournaments including the Backhaul Direct Hoosier Classic. Boisselle will be joined by Central Florida teammate Kaidee Sutphin, who took second at the Hoosier Classic and will be making her second ISC appearance.

Also in the women's division is Pikeville's Kim Yioulos, a two-time Junior Team USA member who posted the third-highest average this collegiate season and had a top-10 finish in seven of 10 events. Heather D'Errico of Robert Morris (Ill.), the 2010 Alberta E. Crowe Star of Tomorrow Award winner, and two bowlers who helped Webber International capture the ITC title last month - Stephanie Martins and Jessica Santiago - also are in the field.

This is the seventh year of the ISC. Previous champions include P.J. Haggerty of Fresno State (2005), Tim Pfeifer of Robert Morris University (2007), Nebraska's Shannon Pluhowsky (2004) and Jennifer Wright of Pikeville College (2008).