Six elected to USBC Hall of Fame

HOFLogoSmallARLINGTON, Texas - The United States Bowling Congress Hall of Fame Committee has elected six new members to the USBC Hall of Fame - four in Outstanding USBC Performance, one in the Veterans category and one in Meritorious Service.

In the Outstanding USBC Performance category, the hall will welcome USBC Masters and USBC Open Championships titlist Rick Steelsmith of Wichita, Kan., USBC Women's Championships and USBC Senior Queens standout Shirley Levens of Titusville, Fla., and Sandra Postma of Lansing, Ill., one of only two women to win the USBC Queens and Senior Queens. The late Frank Santore of New York, a three-time eagle winner, was elected posthumously.

Eight-time Professional Bowlers Association Tour winner and two-time Open Championships titlist Don McCune of Las Vegas will be inducted in the Veterans category, while longtime USBC Board member Tamoria Adams of Charlotte, N.C., is recognized in the Meritorious Service category for her lifetime of service to the sport.

The induction ceremony will take place May 2 at the 2013 USBC Convention in Reno, Nev., and will include those elected from the national Superior Performance ballots. On the men's ballot are Steve Cook, Granite Bay, Calif.; Jason Couch, Clermont, Fla.; David Ozio, Beaumont, Texas; Danny Wiseman, Baltimore; Doug Kent, Newark, N.Y.; and Larry Laub, Lincoln, Calif. The women's ballot has one name - Lynda Barnes of Double Oak, Texas.

Here's a look at each of the newly-elected bowlers:

RickSteelsmithHOFLARGERick Steelsmith
A former Team USA member and collegiate national champion at Wichita State, Steelsmith was the player to beat in the late 1980s. The four-time All-American was the World Bowling Writers, International Bowling Media Association and Collegiate Bowler of the Year in 1987. He also claimed the USBC Masters title in 1987 and returned to the tournament lanes in 1988 to win Regular All-Events and Team All-Events at the Open Championships.

ShirleyLevensHOFLARGEShirley Levens
Levens owns three titles at the Women's Championships - Classic Doubles in 1982 and back-to-back Classic Team titles in 1993 and '94 - and has been dominant at the state and local level with 16 Florida Queens titles, 14 state championships and 12 city-tournament wins. Her victories at the 2002 and 2005 Senior Queens made her the first player to win the event twice and helped her to four consecutive IBMA Senior Woman Bowler of the Year honors.

SandyPostmaHOFLARGESandra Postma
Postma won the Queens in 1995, but has had an even bigger impact at the senior level. She is the only three-time Senior Queens winner with titles in 2004, '06 and '08 and was the first of two bowlers in history to win both events. She owns seven city titles and six state crowns.

FrankSantoreHOFLARGEFrank Santore
The late Santore, a New York City and New York State Hall of Famer, was a standout individual during the heyday of team bowling, claiming three individual titles at the Open Championships. He won Regular All-Events in 1950 and '53 and Regular Singles in 1953, to go along with third-place finishes in Regular Singles and Regular Team in 1950 and a fifth-place team effort in 1949.

McCune has enjoyed success at multiple levels of the game. His 10 top-10 finishes at the Open Championships between 1968 and 1974 included Classic Team (1968) and Classic Doubles (1969) titles, but his biggest impact came on the PBA Tour. He collected eight Tour victories, including six on the way to PBA and IBMA Player of the Year honors in 1973.

TamoriaAdamsHOFLARGETamoria Adams

Adams is a USBC Life Member, and her service to the sport of bowling spans four decades. She has served a number of leadership and delegate roles in local and state associations and became a member of the original USBC Board of Directors in 2005, following time as a Women's International Bowling Congress Board member and vice president. Her committee assignments over the years include college bowling, legislation, diversity, volunteer services and now USBC National Policy and Legal/Legislative.