Roumimper, Kent named collegiate MVPs

LINCOLN, Neb. - Robert Morris-Illinois sophomore Marshall Kent and Wichita State junior Tannya Roumimper were named Most Valuable Players for the 2012-13 college bowling season Wednesday night by the National Collegiate Bowling Coaches Association.

2013 Collegiate MVPsKent and Roumimper were honored with the rest of the All-Americans at the Night of Champions banquet held Wednesday in conjunction with the 2013 xbowling Intercollegiate Team Championships, which will open Thursday at Sun Valley Lanes.

It was the second consecutive season Kent was honored as the collegiate MVP after winning the award last season as a freshman. Kent led the country in average by a wide margin (nearly five pins per game) with a 218.59 average and picked up two individual titles this season.

Kent is joined as a first team All-American by Dan Lemiesz of Lindenwood, Chris Via of Notre Dame-Ohio, Mike Conn of Morehead State and Kyle King, Robert Morris-Illinois.

Roumimper, who hails from Indonesia, also led the country in average at 208.22 and had two individual titles this season to go along with four other top five finishes.

Jazreel Tan of Wichita State closed out her collegiate career by earning a spot as a first-team All-American for the fourth consecutive year becoming just the second woman to achieve the feat. Vicki Parker of Indiana State was a four-time first-team All-American from 1983-1986.

Joining Roumimper and Tan on the first team was Amanda Greene of Lindenwood, Caitlin Hoffman of Robert Morris-Illinois and Katie Thornton of Webber International.

Kyle King of Robert Morris-Illinois and Sabrena Divis of Midland were named the rookies of the year, while coach of the year honors went to Mark Lewis of Wichita State for the women and Mike Kubacki of Calumet for the men.

Also on Wednesday, the International Bowling Media Association announced its players of the year awards, which went to Kent and Tan.



First team

Marshall Kent, Robert Morris-Illinois; Dan Lemiesz, Lindenwood; Chris Via, Notre Dame-Ohio; Mike Conn, Morehead State; Kyle King, Robert Morris-Illinois

Second team
Kyle Sherman, Lindenwood; Nick Kruml, Wisconsin-Whitewater; Cameron Foster, William Penn; Matt Fitch, Morehead State; Jeremy Zimmerly, Lindenwood

Honorable mention
Dylan Burns, Kansas; Perry Crowell, Midland; Brandon Hott, Webber International; AJ Johnson, McKendree; Cameron Weier, Robert Morris-Illinois

Most Valuable Player - Marshall Kent, Robert Morris-Illinois

Rookie of the Year - Kyle King, Robert Morris-Illinois
Kerm Helmer Coach of the Year - Mike Kubacki, Calumet


First team

Tannya Roumimper, Wichita State; Jazreel Tan, Wichita State; Amanda Greene, Lindenwood; Caitlin Hoffman, Robert Morris-Illinois; Katie Thornton, Webber International

Second team
Diana Zavjalova, Webber International; Kelsey Muther, Wichita State; Sabrena Divis, Midland; Sayna Kanemoto, Wright State; Samantha Johnson, Lindenwood

Honorable mention
Daria Kovalova, Wichita State; Christina Halen, Pikeville; Grace Hall, Central Oklahoma; Marilyn Gawlik, McKendree; Tawni Vollmer, Robert Morris-Illinois

Most Valuable Player - Tannya Roumimper, Wichita State

Rookie of the Year - Sabrena Divis, Midland

Kerm Helmer Coach of the Year - Mark Lewis, Wichita State

Gordon Teigen Meritorious Service Award - Gary Brown, Director Collegiate/Youth Tournaments, IBC Youth Development


Male -
Marshall Kent, Robert Morris-Illinois

Female - Jazreel Tan, Wichita State

Male runners-up
Mike Conn, Morehead State; Kyle King, Robert Morris-Illinois; Nick Kruml, Wisconsin-Whitewater; Dan Lemiesz, Lindenwood

Male honorable mention
Cameron Foster, William Penn; Kyle Sherman, Lindenwood; Chris Via, Notre Dame-Ohio

Female runners-up
Amanda Greene, Lindenwood; Caitlin Hoffman, Robert Morris-Illinois; Anggie Ramirez, Maryland Eastern Shore; Tannya Roumimper, Wichita State

Female honorable mention
Daria Kovalova, Wichita State; Katie Thornton, Webber International; Diana Zavjalova, Webber International