New Yorker is Alberta Crowe Star of Tomorrow

ARLINGTON, Texas - Melanie Hannon of Cheektowaga, N.Y., a senior at Maryvale High School, has been selected to receive the 2013 Alberta E. Crowe Star of Tomorrow Award.

The award, determined by the United States Bowling Congress Youth Committee, annually recognizes a female USBC Youth bowler for star qualities, including distinguished bowling performance, academic achievement and extracurricular activities. The award is named in honor of the seven-term president of the Women's International Bowling Congress.

MelanieHannon1"It is such a huge honor, and I still can't believe it," Hannon said. "Seeing the names of the women who have won in past years, and realizing my name will be added to that list, is amazing. I aspire to live up to the title of Star of Tomorrow and feel extremely fortunate to join these great women in this honor."

Hannon has been captain of the Maryvale High School girls bowling team since 2010 and was named to the New York State Section VI All-Star Team four times. She is a member of the National Honor Society, and her 98.2 grade-point average places her fourth in her class of 177. She also is in the high school orchestra and active in several school organizations, including the Student Ambassadors Group.

She won the New York State Pepsi Championships in 2011 and 2012, has finished in the top 20 in the North Pointe Junior Gold Championships the last two years and won the North Pointe Insurance High School Singles title in 2011.

Hannon was selected to the Dexter High School All-America Team in 2010-2011and was named the Greater Buffalo USBC Female Bowler of the Year in 2010, 2011 and 2012. She has been involved with the Greater Buffalo USBC Youth Leaders since 2005, serving as president since 2010, and said the experience has given her invaluable skills.

"Not only have I been able to contribute to the sport I love, I've made countless friends, both youth and adult, along the way," she said. "Most notably, it has given me leadership skills that will no doubt be needed in the years ahead. I am very proud to be part of an organization that promotes youth bowling."

She has been involved in the Cheektowaga Youth Engaged in Service (YES) program since 2009, helping to box items at the local food bank, preparing meals for Meals on Wheels, library activities with children and preparing food for families at Ronald McDonald House.

"I enjoy being able to contribute to my community in some small way and being a YES volunteer has allowed me to do just that," Hannon said. "The satisfaction of knowing a family will have a meal because of the items I've boxed, or the fun of seeing a child's proud face while making a craft, is immeasurable. I've been able to see first-hand some of the hardships others have to deal with every day and know how truly fortunate I am. Some of these experiences were instrumental in my decision to choose nursing as a career path."

Hannon has signed to bowl at Fairleigh Dickinson University in the fall.

For being selected as the Alberta E. Crowe Star of Tomorrow, Hannon will receive a $6,000 scholarship that will be formally presented at the USBC Convention in Reno, Nev.

Go to for more information on the USBC awards and scholarships.

Year, winner, hometown

1961 Betty Kuczynski, Cicero, Ill.
1962 Joy Abel, Lansing, Ill.
1963 Judy Soutar, Leawood, Kan.
1964 Ann Bosworth, Belleville, Ill.
1965 Karen Linton, El Paso, Texas
1966 Betty Jo Crow, Fairway, Kan.
1967 Mildred Ignizio, Rochester, N.Y.
1968 Pamela Carver, Phoenix, Ariz.
1969 Janice Sue Reichley, Dallas
1970 Cheryl Robinson, Destrehan, La.
1971 Rosalyn Raab, San Antonio, Texas
1972 Karen Gustafson, Sunland, Calif.
1973 Leslie Ferris, Arlington, Va.
1974 Pam Dusek, Ontario, Calif.
1975 Donna Adamek, Apple Valley, Calif.
1976 Regina Loveall, Amarillo, Texas
1977 Kathy Kirst, San Antonio, Texas
1978 Nikki Gianulias, Vallejo, Calif.
1979 Audrey Gable, Whitehall, Pa.
1980 Tish Johnson, Panorama City, Calif.
1981 Shelley Johnson, Toledo, Ohio
1982 Vicki Parker, Pelham, N.H.
1983 Laura Dulisse, Blauvelt, N.Y.
1984 Kristine Gross, Citrus Heights, Calif.
1985 Becky Kregling, Stratford, Conn.
1986 Lori Benge, Wichita, Kan.
1987 Dionne Lee, Modesto, Calif.
1988 Lynda Norry, Concord, Calif.
1989 Stefanie Marek, Wilmington, Del.
1990 Kelly Everding, Arvada, Colo.
1991 Laura Ross, Mahwah, N.J.
1992 Kari Murph, Dayton, Ohio
1993 Elizabeth Johnson, Niagara Falls, N.Y.
1994 Pamela Inloes, Modesto, Calif.
1995 Kassy Hyman, Dyer, Ind.
1996 Michelle Ewald, St. Claire Shores, Mich.
1997 Kimberly Claus, Mesquite, Texas
1998 Diandra Hyman, Dyer, Ind.
1999 Amy Rocco, Phoenix
2000 Robin Crawford, Hendersonville, Tenn.
2001 Melissa Bellinder, Fullerton, Calif.
2002 Anita Manns, Austin, Texas
2003 Lindsey Coulles, Centerville, Ohio
2004 Amanda Burgoyne, Newport, Minn.
2005 Cassandra Leuthold, Blackhawk, S.D.
2006 Josie Earnest, Vandalia, Ill.
2007 Joi Bell, Pflugerville, Texas
2008 Brittni Hamilton, Webster, N.Y.
2009 Ricki Williams, Wichita, Kan.
2010 Heather D'Errico, Rochester, N.Y.
2011 Nicole Mosesso, Centerville, Ohio
2012 Megan Buja, Rockford, Ill.
2013 Melanie Hannon, Cheektowaga, N.Y.