Johnson earns top seed at 2013 Senior Queens

Senior Queens bracket

2013TishJohnson_250x140ARLINGTON, Texas -
Hall of Famer Tish Johnson of Colorado Springs, Colo., finds herself one win away from capturing the title at the 2013 United States Bowling Congress Senior Queens presented by Storm after going undefeated in match play at the International Training and Research Center on Monday.

Johnson defeated defending USBC Senior Queens champion Anne Marie Duggan of Edmond, Okla., 738-602, to secure the top seed for Tuesday's stepladder final. Duggan earned the second seed and will be joined by two past Senior Queens titlists. Lucy Sandelin of Tampa, Fla., and Paula Vidad of Sun City, Calif., grabbed the third and fourth seed, respectively.

The stepladder final will be broadcast live on BowlTV starting at 6:30 p.m. Eastern.

"To me, they were a lot tighter today," Johnson said. "The new oils seem to play tighter as the day goes on, so I just tried to stay around the pocket and carry a few here and there. I've never won a Queens event, so of course I'd like to win. I'm just going to go out tomorrow and try to make good shots and see where the pins fall."

The championship round features three USBC Hall of Famers - Johnson, Duggan and Sandelin - and three of the past six Senior Queens champions - Duggan (2012), Vidad (2011) and Sandelin (2007).

With a victory, Duggan would become the first champion to successfully defend her title in tournament history, while she joins Vidad and Sandelin with the chance to become the third competitor to own multiple Senior Queens crowns. Hall of Famers Sandra Postma (three) and Shirley Levens (two) each have captured multiple tiaras.

Duggan already set two tournament records on her way to the finals this week at the ITRC. She recorded the highest 15-game qualifying total in Senior Queens history (3,505), and also set the mark for the highest three-game series in match play as she defeated Kristy Whitcher of Belfair, Wash., 802-674.

All four competitors look to take home the $3,000 top prize and coveted tiara presented to the champion.