Webber men, Wichita women win 2014 Hoosier Classic titles

Complete standings - Men | Women

The Webber International men and Wichita State women took home the titles at the 2014 Backhaul Direct Hoosier Classic at Western Bowl on Sunday.

WebberMen2014Hoosier250x140In the men's final, Webber International battled to a seven-game win against Fresno State, taking the deciding game, 203-188. On the women's side, Wichita downed defending champion Robert Morris-Illinois, 4-0.

The Webber Warriors earned their spot in the final with wins over Notre Dame College and McKendree. Wichita eliminated Davenport and Lindenwood on the way to the women's title.

The 45th edition of the Hoosier Classic featured 78 men's teams and 64 women's teams. All schools bowled nine traditional team games over two days to determine the 12 men's and eight women's teams that would advance to bracket play.

Known as a true test of endurance and versatility, this year's Hoosier Classic featured three challenging lane conditions of varying lengths. Saturday's six games were contested on a 37-foot oil pattern, while Sunday's final three qualifying games were bowled on a 51-foot pattern.

The Robert Morris-Illinois men led qualifying with a nine-game total of 9,368, followed by Webber International (9,269), McKendree (8,971) and Lindenwood (8,949). The top four teams on the men's side earned byes into the Elite 8.

WichitaWomen2014Hoosier250x150Wichita State led qualifying on the women's side with an 8,687 total and was followed by Robert Morris-Illinois (8,551), Webber International (8,514) and Pikeville (8,511).

The match-play portion of the event was contested on a 42-foot oil pattern. The initial elimination rounds were best-of-three matches, while the championship rounds were the best-of-seven.