Texan to receive Alberta E. Crowe Star of Tomorrow Award

ARLINGTON, Texas – Melanie Crawford of Plano, Texas, a sophomore at Stephen F. Austin University majoring in sports marketing, has been selected to receive the 2014 Alberta E. Crowe Star of Tomorrow Award.

MelanieCrawford150x210The award, which provides a $6,000 scholarship, annually recognizes a female USBC Youth bowler for star qualities, including distinguished bowling performances, academic achievement and extracurricular activities. The award is named in honor of the seven-term president of the Women’s International Bowling Congress.

“Being selected as The Alberta E. Crowe recipient is such an incredible honor, and without a doubt it earns a spot at the top of the list of things I have been blessed with in my life,” Crawford said. “Bowling really carried me through some rough times in the past, and I have had so many people push me and support me, so it’s incredible to see the hard work and support of others pay off. And the fact that it has paid off on a scale this high, just makes it so much more meaningful and surreal.”

Before joining the Stephen F. Austin women’s bowling team, Crawford was a member of the Allen High School bowling team, helping the team to a runner-up finish at the 2010 Texas High School Bowling Club state tournament. She was named Newcomer of the Year for High School Bowling in 2009 and Bowler of the Year in 2012.

Crawford, 19, said she started bowling the summer before seventh grade. Her father signed up her and her sister for a youth-adult league, despite their protests.

“I still vividly remember complaining the entire car ride to the first day of league,” Crawford said. “I watched one of the other girls close to my age on the first day, and I was so impressed with her skill. So, in my competitive nature, I decided I wanted to be just as good, if not better than her. I fell in love with the sport on the very first day of league, looked forward to it every Sunday and I haven't looked back since.”

Crawford has competed in the last six Junior Gold Championships, with a high finish of 13th in 2012. She was a member of the first Dallas Youth Leaders Program in 2012, received the Miss Dallas 2012 bowling award from the Dallas Women’s USBC and was inducted into the Youth Hall of Honor in 2013 by the Texas State USBC.

She volunteered as a Sunday School teacher assistant and for Mission Week through St. Jude Catholic Church. She also worked at the Allen Community Outreach food pantry and at a Toys for Tots basketball event, and assisted with the 2011 Texas Youth State Bowling event.

As the Alberta E. Crowe Star of Tomorrow Award winner, Crawford will receive an expenses-paid trip to the 2014 USBC Convention in Reno, Nev., where she will be presented the award. BOWL.com will live stream the USBC Convention, including the award presentation.

Go to BOWL.com/Scholarships to learn more about scholarships available to USBC Youth bowlers.

Year, winner, hometown
1961 Betty Kuczynski, Cicero, Ill.
1962 Joy Abel, Lansing, Ill.
1963 Judy Soutar, Leawood, Kan.
1964 Ann Bosworth, Belleville, Ill.
1965 Karen Linton, El Paso, Texas
1966 Betty Jo Crow, Fairway, Kan.
1967 Mildred Ignizio, Rochester, N.Y.
1968 Pamela Carver, Phoenix, Ariz.
1969 Janice Sue Reichley, Dallas
1970 Cheryl Robinson, Destrehan, La.
1971 Rosalyn Raab, San Antonio, Texas
1972 Karen Gustafson, Sunland, Calif.
1973 Leslie Ferris, Arlington, Va.
1974 Pam Dusek, Ontario, Calif.
1975 Donna Adamek, Apple Valley, Calif.
1976 Regina Loveall, Amarillo, Texas
1977 Kathy Kirst, San Antonio, Texas
1978 Nikki Gianulias, Vallejo, Calif.
1979 Audrey Gable, Whitehall, Pa.
1980 Tish Johnson, Panorama City, Calif.
1981 Shelley Johnson, Toledo, Ohio
1982 Vicki Parker, Pelham, N.H.
1983 Laura Dulisse, Blauvelt, N.Y.
1984 Kristine Gross, Citrus Heights, Calif.
1985 Becky Kregling, Stratford, Conn.
1986 Lori Benge, Wichita, Kan.
1987 Dionne Lee, Modesto, Calif.
1988 Lynda Norry, Concord, Calif.
1989 Stefanie Marek, Wilmington, Del.
1990 Kelly Everding, Arvada, Colo.
1991 Laura Ross, Mahwah, N.J.
1992 Kari Murph, Dayton, Ohio
1993 Elizabeth Johnson, Niagara Falls, N.Y.
1994 Pamela Inloes, Modesto, Calif.
1995 Kassy Hyman, Dyer, Ind.
1996 Michelle Ewald, St. Claire Shores, Mich.
1997 Kimberly Claus, Mesquite, Texas
1998 Diandra Hyman, Dyer, Ind.
1999 Amy Rocco, Phoenix
2000 Robin Crawford, Hendersonville, Tenn.
2001 Melissa Bellinder, Fullerton, Calif.
2002 Anita Manns, Austin, Texas
2003 Lindsey Coulles, Centerville, Ohio
2004 Amanda Burgoyne, Newport, Minn.
2005 Cassandra Leuthold, Blackhawk, S.D.
2006 Josie Earnest, Vandalia, Ill.
2007 Joi Bell, Pflugerville, Texas
2008 Brittni Hamilton, Webster, N.Y.
2009 Ricki Williams, Wichita, Kan.
2010 Heather D’Errico, Rochester, N.Y.
2011 Nicole Mosesso, Centerville, Ohio
2012 Megan Buja, Rockford, Ill.
2013 Melanie Hannon, Cheektowaga, N.Y.
2014 Melanie Crawford, Plano, Texas