Collegiate MVP honors go to Johnson, Roumimper

RENO, Nev. - McKendree junior AJ Johnson and Wichita State senior Tannya Roumimper were named Most Valuable Players for the 2013-14 college bowling season Tuesday night by the National Collegiate Bowling Coaches Association.

Johnson and Roumimper were honored with the rest of the All-Americans at the Night of Champions banquet held Tuesday in conjunction with the 2014 XBowling Intercollegiate Team Championships, which will open Wednesday at the Reno-Sparks Convention Center.

It was the second consecutive season Roumimper was honored as the collegiate MVP. She averaged 208.9 for 59 games, winning two of the eight events in which she competed.

Roumimper is joined as a first team All-American by Daria Kovalova of Wichita State, Diana Zavjalova of Webber International, Sabrena Divis of Midland and Brittany Smith of Grand View.

Johnson, a two-time member of Team USA, out-averaged the men's field by more than two pins per game this season. He finished with a 222 average for 62 games and won three individual titles in nine events.

Joining Johnson as first team All-Americans were Chris Via of Notre Dame-Ohio, Perry Crowell IV of Midland, Cameron Weier of Robert Morris-Illinois and Marshall Kent of Robert Morris-Illinois.

Andrew Anderson of Davenport was named the men's rookie of the year, while the women's rookie of the year honors went to Smith. Shawn Wochner of Wisconsin-Whitewater was named the men's coach of the year, while Mark Lewis of Wichita State was honored as the women's top coach.

Also on Tuesday, the International Bowling Media Association announced its players of the year awards, which went to Johnson and Kovalova.



First team
AJ Johnson, McKendree; Chris Via, Notre Dame-Ohio; Perry Crowell IV, Midland; Cameron Weier, Robert Morris-Illinois; Marshall Kent, Robert Morris-Illinois

Second team
Kyle Sherman, Lindenwood; Nick Kruml, Wisconsin-Whitewater; Darren Tang, San Jose State; Kristis Sergejevas, Webber International; Francois Lavoie, Wichita State

Honorable mention
Matt Gasn, Robert Morris-Illinois; Andrew Anderson, Davenport; Cameron Foster, William Penn; Ryan Zagar, Robert Morris-Illinois; Zach Doty, Schenectady CC

Most Valuable Player - AJ Johnson, McKendree

Rookie of the Year - Andrew Anderson, Davenport
Kerm Helmer Coach of the Year - Shawn Wochner, Wisconsin-Whitewater


First team
Tannya Roumimper, Wichita State; Daria Kovalova, Wichita State; Diana Zavjalova, Webber International; Sabrena Divis, Midland; Brittany Smith, Grand View

Second team
Jerracah Heibel, Notre Dame-Ohio; Kamilah Dammers, Webber International; Rachael Albright, Ursuline; Brittany Ferrara, Notre Dame-Ohio; Samantha Kelly, Robert Morris-Illinois

Honorable mention
Samantha Johnson, Lindenwood; Emily Eckhoff, Hastings; Nicole Trudell, Sacred Heart; Holly Harris, Wichita State; Katelyn Simpson, Pikeville

Most Valuable Player - Tannya Roumimper, Wichita State

Rookie of the Year - Brittany Smith, Grand View

Kerm Helmer Coach of the Year - Mark Lewis, Wichita State

Gordon Teigen Meritorious Service Award - Pat Polash, USBC Collegiate Sectional Coordinator


Male - AJ Johnson, McKendree

Female - Daria Kovalova, Wichita State

Male runners-up
Perry Crowell, Midland; Marshall Kent, Robert Morris-Illinois; Chris Via, Notre Dame-Ohio; Cameron Weier, Robert Morris-Illinois

Male honorable mention
Nick Kruml, Wisconsin-Whitewater; Francois Lavoie, Wichita State; Kyle Sherman, Lindenwood

Female runners-up
Sabrena Divis, Midland; Tannya Roumimper, Wichita State; Brittany Smith, Grand View; Diana Zavjalova, Webber International

Female honorable mention
Rachael Albright, Ursuline; Kamilah Dammers, Webber International; Jerracah Heibel, Notre Dame-Ohio